GUTO Bebb has been re-elected as MP for Aberconwy.

In what Labour had identified as a key seat prior to Thursday’s General Election, Mr Bebb managed to increase his majority from 3,398 in 2010 to 3,999 this year.

He clinched 12,513 votes in total, which was 41.5 per cent of the overall poll.

During his victory speech at Llandudno’s Venue Cymru, he said: "I would like to thank the returning officer and all the team in Conwy Council for running this election so well.

"I think we have played our part here in Aberconwy in what looks like a very good night for the Conservative party.

"We've managed to increase our vote and our share of the votes here in Aberconwy, contributing to what might be a Conservative majority government.

"I'm extremely grateful for the people of this constituency allowing me the privilege to serve them for another five years."

The 46-year-old also thanked the other candidates for running a “tough but clean” campaign.

Coming in second place was Labour candidate Mary Wimbury, who received 8,514 votes, while Plaid Cymru’s Dafydd Meurig had 3,536.

Ms Wimbury said via social media site Twitter: “Thank you so much to everyone who supported me.

“I'm sorry I couldn't do it for you. Not a good night but I'm proud of what we stood for.”

One of the biggest gains of the night came from UKIP and their candidate Andrew Haigh, who racked up 3,467 votes.

Among the other candidates, Liberal Democrat hopeful Victor Babu received 1,391 votes and Petra Haig of the Green Party gained 727.

Despite reports of a steady stream of voters throughout the region during the day, the official turnout for Aberconwy was 66.35 per cent, which was slightly down on the 67 per cent recorded in 2010, according to returning officer Iwan Davies, chief executive at Conwy council.