Motion to remove Conwy Council leader causes independent group to split


Steve Craddock

MOVES to remove Conwy County Council’s leader has caused a split in the authority’s Independent group. 

Of the nineteen councillors originally making up the group on Conwy County Council, fourteen have separated and formed the Conwy First Independent Group following the notice of motion to remove Cllr Dwilwyn Roberts as leader proposed and seconded by independent councillors Nigel Smith and Joan Vaughan. 

At a special council meeting tomorrow (Friday, March 18) Cllr Roberts will face a series of questions from councillors before the motion is put to a vote. 

Cllr Joan Vaughan, who remains in the original independent group at the council, said: "It's to ask the leader to answer questions we've put before him and if we're not happy with the answers there could be a motion of no confidence." 

Cllr Vaughan added another factor in the division of the independent councillors wasthe issue of equality, after the removal of the then only female cabinet member Cllr Anne McCaffrey in January. 

Cllr Graham Rees, cabinet member for tourism, marketing and leisure, who joined the recently formed Conwy First Independent Group, said: "We certainly don't agree with the notice at this time, we've only got about 15 months of this administration left, why change things now? 

"I'm very confident that this notice of motion won't be supported on Friday. We’ve got an excellent administration, it's just a bit of mischief making." 

If the notice is successful, the council will have to elect a new leader. 

Cllr Dilwyn Roberts was approached for comment. 

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Read