CRICKET: Champions Colwyn Bay end campaign with defeat


Tomos Hughes

COLWYN Bay ended their Liverpool and District Competition Division One title-winning campaign with a two-wicket defeat at home to Newton-le-Willows. 

Huw Jones led the Bay charge with a fine 76 knock, only for the visitors to successfully chase down the victory target of 185, to record a momentous final-day triumph at the home of the champions. 

The defeat - only the second league reverse of the season - did little to dampen the title party at Penrhyn Avenue however, as skipper Sion Morris was presented with the league trophy. 

Colwyn Bay, who also won the Welsh Cup and ended runners-up in the Ray Digman Knockout Trophy, won the league by a staggering 101-point gulf from second-placed Rainford. 

After choosing to bowl first, Newton got off to a great start by removing opener Zak Gidlow for a duck, before cheaply dismissing Morris (6) and Adam Campion (4). 

George Johansen and Adam Shillcock (both 11) steadied the ship for Bay, before Michael Littler (39) and Jones (76) ramped up the hosts’ run-rate. They were eventually dismissed after 42.3 overs for 184. 

The Newton run-chase proved a close-run affair as the Bay attack kept the wickets tumbling, while there were some good knocks from the visiting batsmen. 

Eventually, a patient 46 from skipper Chris Chambers and a half-century from Ian Walkden (50), helped push the away side past the victory post in the 55th over, with just two wickets to spare. 

Ryan Holtby (4-54), Paul Jenkins (3-60) and Campion (1-31) were the wicket-takers on a rare off-day for the Bay attack. 

Newton-le-Willows also got one over on Bay’s second team, as their seconds scraped to a one-wicket victory, leaving Colwyn Bay with an eighth-place finish in the Second XI First Division. 

The third team finished bottom of the Third XI Sunday First Division table despite Hightown St Mary’s conceding their final match of the season. 

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Read