Some of the most talented sports men and women have been recognised at an awards ceremony.

The annual Conwy Sports Awards were held at Llandudno's Venue Cymru last night honouring those individual athletes, teams and volunteers that stood out within the county.

About 30 individuals and clubs had shortlisted for the awards from more than 100 entries with just 12 categories up for grabs.

Sailor Ewan Luke won the first category of the night taking out the Junior Sportsman of the year award. The other junior sporting categories were taken out by golfer Lea-Anne Bramwell (Junior Sportswoman), Cerys Vick (Young Volunteer award) and the Penrhyn Bay Girls under 12 Football Team (Junior Sports Team f the Year).

Ysgol Y Creuddyn took out the School of the Year category while the Special Achievement Award went to young cyclist Samuel Stewart Ball.

The senior award were won by triathlete Simon Cole (Sportsman of the Year), squash star Emily Whitlock (Sportswoman of the Year), Clwb Rygbi Nant Conwy (Senior Sports Team of the Year), rugby union stalwart Kevin Thomas (Coach of the Year), Mochdre Sporting Club's Chris Coleman (Services to Sport) and Trefriw Walking Festival (Event of the Year).

Special guest of honour for the awards night was rally driver Jade Paveley who spoke about her rallying career to date before helping present the awards.