THE Brexit Party dominated voting in Conwy county in the European Parliament election.

It amassed 12,131 votes, while the remaining seven parties who fought the election gathered a total of 21,751 between them.

Nathan Gill, of the Brexit Party who was elected, said: “This was the election that should never have taken place. The people of Wales have spoken once again: We are a Brexit nation.”

Mr Gill, who lives near Llangefni, added: "We want to leave the EU with a clean Brexit and that is what we have spoken for."

The breakdown of the Conwy vote is:

Change UK, the Independent Group: 941

The Conservative and Unionist party: 3,001

The Green Party: 1,976

The Labour Party: 3,439

The Liberal Democrats: 4,442

Plaid Cymru, the party of Wales: 6,784

The Brexit Party: 12,131

UKIP: 1,168