Aberconwy MP Guto Bebb is one of 21 Conservative rebels who have had the party whip withdrawn after voting against the Government on a motion to allow legislation to delay Brexit unless Parliament has agreed a new withdrawal agreement by October 19.

Mr Bebb had already announced he does not intend to stand at the next election.

He has been reported as saying to vote against a no deal Brexit is: “Truer to Conservative tradition than anyone who traipses through the lobbies out of fear, opportunism or simply unthinking loyalty”.

In an earlier exchange of emails with a constituent he wrote: “I will be voting against every action of this despotic and rather desperate prime minister this week.

His constituency office was unable to make any comment.

Losing the whip, or having it withdrawn, means an MP is expelled from their party because they have not followed strict instruction from the leadership. However they do not lose their seat in Parliament.