EXCITEMENT is building for one of the major dates on the Conwy sporting calendar.

Nominations have been submitted for the 2019 Conwy Sports Awards and a shortlist of finalists for each category has been determined.

A total of 32 candidates have been shortlisted for awards from a variety of different sports.

The winners in all of the awards categories will be announced at a special awards dinner at Venue Cymru, Llandudno on November 22.

The special guest will be Olympic Games silver medal-winning swimmer Jazz Carlin.

Two categories have already been decided.

Ysgol Llandrillo yn Rhos is the winner in the Conwy County Borough Council Education Service school of the year section.

Elsewhere, the Community Chest event of the year winner is the Great Orme Swim.

British rally champion Matt Edwards is nominated in the Evolution Bikes senior sportsman of the year competition, alongside James Hughes (mountain biking) and Colin Healy (pool).

There will also be an exciting battle for Cartrefi Conwy senior sports woman of the year category winner, with Ffion Mair Roberts (athletics), Lea-Anne Bramwell (golf) and Laura Parkes (dressage) all up for the award.

Conwy Sports Awards 2019 nominees:

Halliwell Jones junior sportsman: Alexander Wilson (wheelchair basketball), Finan Close (swimming), Tomos Land (triathlon).

Sional Promotional Merchandise junior sportswoman: Sophie Rawling (football), Georgia Holmes (gymnastics and netball), Rebecca Ganley (wheelchair basketball).

Exile Sportswear junior sports team: Dyffryn Conwy Girls U-15s (rugby), Penrhyn Bay Girls (football), Colwyn Bay U-13s (rugby).

Always Aim High Events young volunteer: Connor James Workman (rugby), Tom Roscoe (hockey), Osian Roberts (cricket).

Conwy County Borough Council Education Service school of the year: Ysgol Llandrillo yn Rhos.

North Wales Honda special achievement: Gemma Gale (running), William Neale (cycling), Margaret Williams (running).

Evolution Bikes senior sportsman: James Hughes (mountain biking), Colin Healy (pool), Matt Edwards (motorsport).

Cartrefi Conwy senior sports woman: Ffion Mair Roberts (athletics), Lea-Anne Bramwell (golf), Laura Parkes (dressage).

Design 2 Print senior sports team: Abergele Aces (netball), Llandudno RFC (rugby), GOG Triathlon (triathlon).

Colwyn BID coach of the year: Gareth Rawling (football), Ken Simms (bowls), Ian Morgan (football).

Gorsehill Caravan Park services to sport: Olwen Catherall (swimming), Meryl Roberts (netball and hockey), Neil Pringle (rugby).

Community Chest event of the year: Great Orme Swim (swimming).