ON JUNE 7, the town mayor of the Bay of Colwyn, Cllr Colin Matthews, was invited to present grants, on behalf of the trustees of the Sir John Henry Morris Jones Trust, to five talented young people from the Colwyn area.

The recipients of awards from the trust this year are: Joshua Chan (hockey), George Hughes (music), Abigail Oliver-Eastwood (music), Oliver Pearce (music), and James Smith (athletics).

Chairman of the trustees, Jim Barry, said: “On behalf of the Trustees, I would like to offer our congratulations to this year’s award recipients, who the Trustees concluded were all highly motivated young people showing outstanding ability and dedication in their chosen fields.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to encourage anyone who knows of any young people (younger than 19 years of age) from the Bay of Colwyn area who are able to demonstrate a high level of achievement in the arts, sport or education, to please get in touch with the town clerk in Colwyn Bay (01492 532248) to find out more about how the trust fund could help to support them.”


Overnight A55 closures between Llanddulas and Abergele

Treat for Motown fans as concert set to come to Llandudno's Venue Cymru!

Chef-to-the-stars Kris’ culinary tribute is a ‘pizza Wales’

Cllr Matthews added: “I am privileged to have been asked to give out awards to this group of talented young people and to hear of their significant achievements over the past year, together with their goals for the year ahead.

“It amazes me that our town can produce such a wealth of dedicated and talented young people and I congratulate all of the award recipients and wish them all the best for the future.

“I would also like to thank their parents, teachers, coaches and mentors for their hard work and support.”