WITH the next general election in the UK scheduled for Thursday, July 4, parliamentary constituencies in North Wales are set to change.

Prime Minister Rishi Sunak confirmed the date for the upcoming election outside 10 Downing Street on Wednesday afternoon (May 22).

A restructuring of parliamentary constituencies was revealed by the Boundary Commission for Wales last June, which will take effect following the next general election, without the need for parliamentary or government approval.


July 4th general election date announced by Rishi Sunak

Man behind viral Rishi Sunak moment issues police update

Welsh constituencies will be reduced from the current total of 40 to 32; while Colwyn Bay and Rhyl will be under the same jurisdiction.

Here are the constituencies North Wales residents will be voting in on July 4:

Clwyd North

This is a new constituency, which will comprise Denbigh, Rhyl, St Asaph, Abergele, Colwyn Bay, Rhos-on-Sea, Mochdre and Pentre-Mawr.

Denbighshire - Bodelwyddan, Denbigh Central, Denbigh Lower, Denbigh Upper/ Henllan, Rhuddlan, Rhyl East, Rhyl South, Rhyl South East, Rhyl South West, Rhyl West, St. Asaph East, St. Asaph West, and Trefnant.

Conwy - Abergele Pensarn, Colwyn, Eirias, Gele, Glyn, Kinmel Bay, Llanddulas, Llandrillo yn Rhos, Llysfaen, Mochdre, Pentre Mawr, Rhiw, and Towyn.

Clwyd East

Another new constituency, Clwyd East will include parts of Wrexham and Flintshire, as well as Dyserth, Prestatyn, Llangollen and Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd.

Denbighshire - Dyserth, Llandyrnog, Prestatyn Central, Prestatyn East, Prestatyn Meliden, Prestatyn North, Prestatyn South West, Tremeirchion, Llanarmon-yn-Ial/Llandegla, Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd/Llangynhafal, Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd/Gwyddelwern, Llangollen, and Ruthin.

Flintshire - Argoed, Brynford, Caerwys, Cilcain, Ffynnongroyw, Greenfield, Gronant, Gwernaffield, Gwernymynydd, Halkyn, Holywell Central, Holywell East, Holywell West, Leeswood, Mold Broncoed, Mold East, Mold South, Mold West, Mostyn, New Brighton, Northop, Northop Hall, Trelawnyd and Gwaenysgor, and Whitford.

Wrexham - Llangollen Rural.

The current Clwyd South, Vale of Clwyd and Clwyd West constituencies will be scrapped, meanwhile.

Bangor Aberconwy

This new seat will comprise the Efenechtyd, Llanrhaeadr-yng-Nghinmeirch, Arllechwedd, Betws-y-Coed and Trefriw, Bryn, Canol Bangor, Canol Bethesda, Caerhun, Capelulo, Conwy, Craig-y-Don, Crwst, Deganwy, Dewi, Dwyrain Bangor, Eglwysbach a Llangernyw, Glyn y Marl, Gogarth Mostyn, Gower, Llanrwst and Llanddoged, Llansanffraid, Llansannan, Marl, Mostyn, Pandy, Pant-yr-Afon, Penmaenmawr, Penrhyn, Pensarn, Tudno, Deiniol, Dewi, Garth, Gerlan, Glyder, Hendre, Hirael, Marchog, Menai (Bangor), Ogwen, Pentir, Rachub, Y Faenol, Uwch Aled, Uwch Conwy and Tregarth wards.

Ynys Môn

Currently held by Conservative MP Virginia Crosbie, this seat had “protected status” and will remain its own, unchanged constituency under the new recommendations, and will also be the smallest in size of all 32 (52,415 electors).

Dwyfor Meirionnydd

This will be the largest of Wales’ 32 constituencies, with it now including the electoral wards of Corwen and Llandrillo.

Its current wards are Aberdaron, Aberdyfi, Abererch, Abermaw, Abersoch, Bala, Botwnnog, Bowydd and Rhiw, Brithdir and Llanfachreth/Ganllwyd/Llanelltyd, Bryn-crug/Llanfihangel, Clynnog, Corris/Mawddwy, Criccieth, Diffwys and Maenofferen, Dolbenmaen, Dolgellau North, Dolgellau South, Dyffryn Ardudwy, Efail-newydd/Buan, Harlech, Llanaelhaearn, Llanbedr, Llanbedrog, Llandderfel, Llanengan, Llangelynin, Llanuwchllyn, Llanystumdwy, Morfa Nefyn, Nefyn, Penrhyndeudraeth, Porthmadog East, Porthmadog West, Porthmadog-Tremadog, Pwllheli North, Pwllheli South, Teigl, Trawsfynydd, Tudweiliog and Tywyn.

The commission received representations that stated that the electoral wards have more ties with Dwyfor Meirionnydd and better road links to that constituency.

Its current MP is Liz Saville Roberts, of Plaid Cymru.

Alyn and Deeside

This seat, currently held by Mark Tami MP (Labour), will be expanded as a result of the scrapping of the Delyn constituency.

It will comprise Aston, Broughton North East, Broughton South, Buckley Bistre East, Buckley Bistre West, Buckley Mountain, Buckley Pentrobin, Caergwrle, Connah’s Quay Central, Connah’s Quay Golftyn, Connah’s Quay South, Connah’s Quay Wepre, Ewloe, Hawarden, Higher Kinnerton, Hope, Llanfynydd, Mancot, Penyffordd, Queensferry, Saltney Mold Junction, Saltney Stonebridge, Sealand, Shotton East, Shotton Higher, Shotton West, Treuddyn, Bagillt East, Bagillt West, Flint Castle, Flint Coleshill, Flint Oakenholt, and Flint Trelawny.


Represented by Conservative MP Sarah Atherton since December 2019, this constituency will gain wards from the next election.

Its electoral wards will then be Acton, Borras Park, Brynyffynnon, Cartrefle, Erddig, Garden Village, Gresford East and West, Grosvenor, Gwersyllt East and South, Gwersyllt North, Gwersyllt West, Hermitage, Holt, Little Acton, Llay, Maesydre, Marford and Hoseley, Offa, Queensway, Rhosesni, Rosset, Smithfield, Stansty, Whitegate and Wynnstay, and Bronington, Brymbo, Bryn Cefn, Coedpoeth, Gwenfro, Marchwiel, Minera, New Broughton and Overton.

Why are the constituencies changing?

Shereen Williams MBE, secretary to the Boundary Commission for Wales, said: “It is our firm belief that these recommendations represent the best way to create 32 constituencies in Wales which meet the requirements of the act, including taking account of geography and local ties.

“Though managing a significant reduction in the number of constituencies is never an easy task for a Boundary Commission, it has been made significantly easier thanks to the number and quality of representations we have received from the public, from MPs, from political parties, and from principal councils across Wales.

“The Commission would like to put on record its thanks to everyone who took part in the review and strengthened the recommendations.”