WITH the next general election in the UK scheduled for Thursday, July 4, here is a run-down of the candidates standing to be MPs in Conwy.

Prime Minister Rishi Sunak confirmed the date for the upcoming election outside 10 Downing Street on Wednesday afternoon (May 22).

A restructuring of parliamentary constituencies was revealed by the Boundary Commission for Wales last June, which will take effect following July’s election, without the need for parliamentary or government approval.

Welsh constituencies will be reduced from the current total of 40 to 32.


UK General Election 2024 – North Wales' new constituency boundaries

The deadline for the delivery of nominations for a UK Parliamentary general election is 4pm on the 19th working day before voters go to the polls (Friday, June 7).

This deadline cannot be moved or extended for any reason.

Clwyd North

This is a new constituency, which will comprise Denbigh, Rhyl, St Asaph, Abergele, Colwyn Bay, Rhos-on-Sea, Mochdre and Pentre-Mawr.

Denbighshire - Bodelwyddan, Denbigh Central, Denbigh Lower, Denbigh Upper/ Henllan, Rhuddlan, Rhyl East, Rhyl South, Rhyl South East, Rhyl South West, Rhyl West, St. Asaph East, St. Asaph West, and Trefnant.

Conwy - Abergele Pensarn, Colwyn, Eirias, Gele, Glyn, Kinmel Bay, Llanddulas, Llandrillo yn Rhos, Llysfaen, Mochdre, Pentre Mawr, Rhiw, and Towyn.

  • Conservative - Darren Millar
  • Green - Martyn James Hogg
  • Labour - Gill German   
  • Liberal Democrats - David Wilkins
  • Plaid Cymru - Paul Rowlinson
  • Reform UK - Jamie Orange

Bangor Aberconwy

This new seat will comprise the Bryn, Capelulo, Conwy, Craig-y-Don, Crwst, Deganwy, Gogarth, Gower, Llansanffraid, Marl, Mostyn, Pandy, Pant-yr-Afon, Penrhyn, Pensarn, Tudno, Deiniol, Dewi, Garth, Gerlan, Glyder, Hendre, Hirael, Marchog, Menai (Bangor), Ogwen, Pentir and Tregarth wards.

  • Conservative - Robin Millar
  • Green - Petra Haig                      
  • Labour - Claire Hughes
  • Liberal Democrats - Rachael Roberts
  • Plaid Cymru - Catrin Wager                                  
  • Reform UK - John Clark
  • Socialist Labour Party - Kathrine Jones
  • Climate Party - Steve Marshall

Election timeframe

People who have not yet registered to vote, or are not sure if they are eligible, have until June 18 to submit an application, or June 19 if you want to make a postal vote.

Thursday, May 30 – Parliament dissolved.

Friday, June 7 – Deadline for delivery and withdrawals of nominations.

Tuesday, June 18 – Deadline to apply to be eligible to vote.

Wednesday, June 19 – Deadline to submit a postal vote.

Thursday, July 4 – UK General Election (polls open from 7am to 10pm).

Friday, July 5 – Election results revealed.

Tuesday, July 9 - First meeting of the new UK Parliament - speaker of the House of Commons elected and members sworn in.

Wednesday, July 17 – State opening of Parliament and King’s Speech.

This article will be updated as and when additional candidates are confirmed as standing in the election before the deadline.